March: The Month of Self-Love

by mandy lipka

It’s wise to direct our intentions toward accomplishing real goals now instead of aiming toward unreachable ideals. The Moon’s shift into powerful Scorpio helps us find the resources we need to be successful. Significant gains are likely if we’re willing to work for what we want.

March has begun. And what an exciting month it is! It’s Women’s History Month (which includes International Women’s Day on the 8th), National Nutrition Month, and my birthday month. And spring– a symbol of nature’s rebirth– is only weeks away. So, in honor of these occasions, I’ve officially launched my month of self-love. It’s a small tribute to myself and our mother.

So far, I’ve kicked off the event with an exciting new book, lingerie, a month-long meditation class (can’t believe it’s been a whole year since my MBSR class), shoes, vinyl, yummy food, new dates, inspiring shows, yoga, and more.

I’ve made sure to schedule some me dates this month, too– SIFF movies, a wine, tea, and chocolate tasting, an herban wellness workshop, a photo course, and an evening talk on mindful relationships.

And, I plan to surround myself with inspiring media. I kicked off my first show this month with Alabama Shakes. Brittany brought me to tears with her ass-kicking soul… See below. Next up is a stellar lady-rocker musical– These Streets, a talk by Duff McKagan, Mudhoney’s album release show, and my ongoing obsession with PBS’ MAKERS: Women Who Make America.

Brittany - Alabama Shakes

During this exciting month, I’ll be channeling good ol’ Maya Angelou and have printed out the following as a mindful trigger for the next 20-something days. It will be work, but it will be worth it in the end. I welcome you to join me.

It’s the arch of my back,

The sun of my smile,

The ride of my breasts,

The grace of my style.

I’m a woman

Phenomenally.

Phenomenal woman,

That’s me.

Leave a Reply

